Real life Mac Gyverisms and more.

Restoring a old fan


A couple of days ago, my neighbour was throwing away his old fan.
I asked him if I could have it for the parts and he gladly handed it over.

image

After opening the controls, I realised quickly that I just needed to resolder some existing connections.

image

I completely disassembled the fan, put the housing and all non electrical parts in the dishwasher to remove the caked on dust.

image

I then decided to repaint the entire device.

image

I replaced the broken base with a modified board originally used for  wheeling plant pots.

image

The result speaks for itself.

image

Leave a Reply

